Protein Skimmer question

partonks

I just started my new tank up with a protein skimmer and live rock. I have everything working, but I'm curious as to how much the skimmer should be doing. On some settings, it will fill up the collection cup in minutes (pbviously this is wrong) or I can get it to do almost nothing. I wanted to find out how it should look when working properly. Right now, I have it so it bubbles up into the collection cup about every 2-5 seconds. However, no appreciable amount of liquid is released into the collection cup, just some bubbles each time. Just wanted to get some other opinions.
Thanks,
Kevin

tangman99

partonks,
I'm not an expert on skimmers as I have just added my first to my tank, but I do know that you want to collect dry foam in your collection cup. You do not want liquid to be collected.
Tangman :D

partonks

I have a Prizm skimmer which I saw some traffic on below. Unfortunately, if I put the water to the suggested level, I get a lot of liquid in my collection cup (a lot being about 1 centimeter of dirty water overnight). Thanks for the note.
Kevin

flydan

Hey,
If you are just setting up a new tank you probably don't want to run the skimmer until it's done cycling. When you do start it you wont be collecting much at first since there isn't anything in your tank to skim. My reef has been set up since April and I only have to empty my collection cup once a week.
The other replies you got are correct. Only foam should rise up into the collection cup.
Dan'l

partonks

Thanks, I am setting up a new tank and I was actually advised to skim it aggressively during the cycling process and to do water changes. I have read here to avoid both of these things. I'll try not using the skimmer, I just started cyling the tank yesterday, so obviously, I didn't get too far with the skimmer.
Thanks,
Kevin

tangman99