Purple bubble algae?

tigershark

I was looking at some of my LR this weekend and noticed on one piece there were some bubbles starting to form. They are somewhere between a tear drop and a tic tac in shape and pretty small. They are transparent but have a purple color to them. I saw several of them on the same surface of the rock but I havent seen it anywhere else. I havent really seen bubble algae, only heard about it so Im not sure if this is it? Any guesses? Also how can I get rid of it? I am putting my tank though another cycle so is there a way I can clean it from the rock like using a wire brush or something before I start adding livestock to my tank?

tim

I'm not an expert on this, but last night I took a turkey baster to my tank and blasted all those annoying bubble algaes off the rocks, along with all the other algae. Looks great now.
They suggest vacuuming instead, to get the stuff out of the tank, but I just put a sponge filter on my powerhead and return in take, and get hope it all gets filtered out...

broomer5

TigerShark
There are a few species of bubble algae that show up in our tanks. They are usually either Valonia or Ventricaria.
I've had most of them before :(
The Valonia venticosa is pretty easy to spot. Many times it will grow into a single large bubble - like the size of a grape - and sometimes takes on a silver-gray haze to it.
Valonia aegagropila and Velonia macrophysa are longer in shape.
Not really round, but more like a roundish hotdog shape.
Velonia ocellata grow in clusters and can actually begin to cover live rock or powerheads in the tank. Smaller bubbles than the other types above - and lots of them.
Here's some pics of Bubble algae.
I've never seen purple tissue - but I've seen this reddish/purple dusty coating that can cover each bubble.
Maybe this is same as you're seeing ?
Reference: Dr. Robert J. Goldstein's book "Marine Reef Aquarium Handbook"

nm reef