QT question

fishy7

Ok, a quick break down.
I am new to sw aquariums and from all the reading, it is VERY clear that I have to invest in a QT.
Is there are a way to connect a qt with the main display tank and then make it independent when it is time to qt new inhabitants?
I see my hands being full keeping one tank up and running.
Some details:
Setting up a 215
50 gal sump
Thanks for the help.

jasenhicks

I would keep it seperate... this way there is no comingling between the possible diseased QT tank and the display tank. If you ever do need to QT a fish, once HE's cured, all the stuff in the QT should be considered contaminated and shouldnt be allowed anywhere close to the display to prevent introducing disease to the DT.

bill f

Very simple tank setup. 10-20 gallon tank, biowheel filter, heater, 1 powerhead and some PVC tubing for them to provide a place to hide. No liverock or sand. You can use water from a waterchange in your display tank to fill and keep it topped off. Thats it.

crazyzeus1

Originally Posted by Bill F
Very simple tank setup. 10-20 gallon tank, biowheel filter, heater, 1 powerhead and some PVC tubing for them to provide a place to hide. No liverock or sand. You can use water from a waterchange in your display tank to fill and keep it topped off. Thats it.
But how do you keep a "good" water quality for 2 weeks while your fish is in QT???? That's the one part of QT I just don't get! Does the fliter take care of that?

ezee

crazyzeus1,
I am planning on careful monitoring and water changes, in additon to the filter. Based on what I have read.
E

thegrog

Keep the water quality up by doing 10% (like 1-2 gallons) changes every 3-4 days.