Quarantines???..what they do...

jb clown

I was wondering what quarantines actually do. I herd people talk about them and I was wondering what they do. I think people put fish in them for when a fish as ich or something like that but do you put fish in them before you put them in your tank. I have a 36 gal tank and i have live rock in it and it has cycled and I am going to get some fish online. Should i put fish in my smaller tank and put some stuff in there? Or what stuff should i put in it or even if i even have to put anything in there?
I don't know much about this stuff because i am a beginner and would take any information.

goldenboy

Have a qt tank available at all times. The reason for a qt tank isn't for an ich outbreak, but that's a good reason. It's used as a holding tank for new fish. If you're confident that the 36 gallon tank is ready for fish, there isn't a problem adding 1 or 2 to it to start. After a month of success, add the next fish you want to the qt tank. Wait another month. If no signs of sickness appear, acclimate the fish in the qt tank to your 36 gallon display tank. Always have a qt tank available for a possible ich outbreak. Learn about salinity treatment. And remember, if your tank stays in the right perimeters, and you don't add sick fish, you won't have to worry about ich.:D

jess74

jb clown-
Yes having a QT (quarantine tank) setup is a VERY good idea. When you get any new fish you put them in the QT for 3 weeks to make sure they aren't carrying any diseases (ich is especially common). At first I didn’t t have one setup, then when joining this board I decided to do it. Right after that I got 3 new fish and low and behold my blackcap first had flukes, then ich. He is probably wondering if he will ever make it out of the QT! :)
If you go to the disease forum and look in there for setting up a QT, you will find excellent info on the best way to do it, that is where I went. Best of luck to you with your new tank! :D

goldenboy