Question about water quality

bemaniac

Just wondering: would adding carbon to the sump allow me to get away with using tap water (& salt of course) for water changes instead of RO/DI? The tap water here is fairly decent (Oakland, CA). Would using water conditioner make any difference?
Any thoughts?

merredeth

Originally Posted by bemaniac
Just wondering: would adding carbon to the sump allow me to get away with using tap water (& salt of course) for water changes instead of RO/DI? The tap water here is fairly decent (Oakland, CA). Would using water conditioner make any difference?
Any thoughts?
I wouldn't use anything but RO or RO/DI water for a tank. I don't like using water additives.
Believe me when I say this, getting RO or RO/DI water is going to save you many headaches.
Denise M.

zanoshanox

I second the above post. I have been reefkeeping for almost two years now and about 2 months ago I started using RO water. I have noticed a great improvement in the health or my corals, the overall appearance of my tank, and my water quality.

bemaniac

I understand. Although from the sounds of it, acquiring RO/DI is going to cause me just as many headaches. I can either buy it from my LFS for $1 per gallon or make it myself, but it seems like I'd have to keep a large amount of it on hand.

X

xoxox

I understand. Although from the sounds of it, acquiring RO/DI is going to cause me just as many headaches. I can either buy it from my LFS for $1 per gallon or make it myself, but it seems like I'd have to keep a large amount of it on hand.
Wally world (walmart) sells it for less, they have an RO machine in most all of their stores.

merredeth

You can get RO water from the local WalMart Superstore for $1.65 for 5 gallons. All Walmart Superstores use Culligan for R/O water.