Question on RO Unit

krazy302

I am thinking about buying a RO unit, the one I am looking at is from lowes . It is a Whirlpool model #WHER25. Has anyone used this unit. I want to use it for drinking water and of course for my tank (quiet don't tell the wife, she thinks I want it for me and her)LOL. Do you think this unit is ok.

am3gross

is it just the ro unit? you would be better off getting the ro/di unit. also how many stages is it? most ro/di units are at least 4 to 5 stages. imo the more stages the better the quality of the water. i am also looking in to getting the unit but i think i am going to go with the kent maxxima. i think that they are the best ive seen so far. i am no expert so i would wait until somebody with more exp. chimes in ........ good luck!

krazy302

Do I actually need a RO unit with DI or will the RO unit work ok for now...And could I add the DI unit to it at a later date????

ophiura

First things first. Shop around. There are lots of places that specialize in these units and they are FAR FAR FAR cheaper than what I have seen at hardware stores. I've seen 5 stage RO/DI for about $125. This also goes, IMO, for buying "name brand" aquarium RO/DI units as well. Basically the housings are all the same, the resins and such all the same....but the name is making up the cost difference. JMO tho

anonome

Originally Posted by ophiura
First things first. Shop around. There are lots of places that specialize in these units and they are FAR FAR FAR cheaper than what I have seen at hardware stores. I've seen 5 stage RO/DI for about $125. This also goes, IMO, for buying "name brand" aquarium RO/DI units as well. Basically the housings are all the same, the resins and such all the same....but the name is making up the cost difference. JMO tho