Ready to Cycle

mjordan23

Im not really a newbie but I wanted to get some opinions. My 125 gallon FOWLR is ready to start cycling. I filled my tank, put in my CC. My temp is at 76 and my salinity between 1.023 and 1.024 on an Instant Ocean Hydrometer which I just bought. My parents Hydrometer which is old says 1.020. Should I be worried? Im getting 45 lbs of premium fiji rock tomorrow and Im just gonna put it and let it cycle the tank. Will think work? Should I get 2 damsels with the rock and throw em in. The last 2 qquestions are this. We built the stand and when we did it was perfectly level. Now that everything is in it, it may be off 1/16 of an inch. One level says it is basically perfect, while a cheeper level says its off a lil. Looking at the water level on top it looks almost perfect, like I said maybe 1/16 of an inch. I didnt think there was any reason to worry but I was just wondering. The last thing on my overflow box, I have it a lil unlevel in the back so that I could have a lower water level in the tank. I did this by just adjjusting the plastic screws. Is that ok to do?
Any advice on these subjects are appreciated.
Thanks
Mark

rs1831

I used live sand and about 1 lb of live rock for every gallon in my tank and my cycle seems like it went really well. Its been about 18 days and its about done. I used 2 damsels but next time I think that I'm going to use uncured live rock instead. My only suggestion would be to get more live rock and if you don't have your heart set on cc to use live sand. Good luck.

mjordan23

the CC is already in there.........and the 45 lbs of live rock is all I can afford at the moment but it will be uncured.......anyone else?

chipmaker