Really want to start keeping SPS, equipment?

greenreefer

I have been keeping reef tanks for a little over 5 years, but mostly softies and lps. I've tried a couple os sps over the years, but without much luck. I recently setup a 125 and would like to set it up as a mixed reef. Right it is setup it is setup with an 4 foot 8 bulb t5 fixture (grimreefer on -- picked the bulb combo) and I'll be adding a 20k 250w MH over the other 2 feet. I am running a 3 chamber sump (33 long) including 1 chamber as a fuge. I have octopus NW 200 for my skimmer, mag 7 for return pump, 2 250w heaters, 1 koralia 4, 1 modded mj1200, and 3 unmodded mj1200s. I currently dose seachem supliments 2 times a week (complete, calcium, carbonate, iodine, magnesium, and strontium) and I use oceanic salt. Right now I manually top off every night, but would like to get a ATO soon. Any new equipment or equipmet changes I should make before trying SPS again. I have a monti caps in their now and it seems to be doing fine. I'm not in a rush, but I want to make sure I have things working towards the goal of being able to keep a decent amount of SPS.

gatorwpb

Sounds like you are going in the right direction just with what you have now. Starting with something easy like a monti cap or encrusting monti is a good choice.
Your lighting sounds a little hodge-podge (no offense) but I believe it will still be fine for sps assuming that the t-5 is individual reflectors. Those sps under the 20k 250w may grow faster than the ones under the t-5.
Also, you will have the shimmer effect only on one end.
Also, sounds like you may need a little more flow as you add more sps and they start to grow. Maybe pick up a sureflow 1600 kit or 2 to convert those other MJ1200s. In my 65g sps tank I have 2 modded Tunze 6025s and a sureflow modded MJ1200. Im about to switch out one of the tunze for a second modded MJ1200. Ill have somewhere around 5500 gph in my 65g but thats on the high end of flow needed for sps.