redish alge

reynolds33_77

Hello all I am new at this and I have a problem. I have redish alge growing all over my lr and cc its not slim. I was told the it was bad. how can i get rid of it? Please and sugestions will hep!
35gal sw tank
2 1/2 in cc
25lbs lr
3 damsels
1 turbo smail
1 yellow Tang,
1 panther grouper.
eclipes3 filter
1 fluval3
1 power head

col

Hi
Do you know how big a panther Grouper grows - in a word HUGE.
Also the yellow Tang won't do well in a 35G I wouldn't think.
Any pictures of the algae?

What filteration of you tap water if any do you do? How often do you do water changes? Do you have what they call a cleanup crew (snails & crabs)? They say that you should have at least 1 snail or crab per 1 gallon water. How long has your tank been set up?

reynolds33_77

my tank is about 6 months old I use tapwater I put chemicals in it to take out metals is there anything else i should put in? I am going to get some slails and crabs this weekend how many should i get and what kind? I change water once a month. my last water change was two weeks from the pic. the alge gooks alittle green in the pic but it is a redish brown. where would i find ro water?

col

You change your water once a month - how much do you change?
Have you done a phosphate test, this causes algae aswell as nitrates.
Do you intend to keep those fish in a 35 G tank?