refuge/sump...what do I have?

redarizona

:notsure: O.k., this may sound really silly, and I know I have learned a lot on this site, I am new to this and am wondering what I call what I actually have...I have tried to find it here and can't...I have a 100 gal that uses and ecosystem with miracle mud and plants and bioballs...anyone heard of it? please say you have...is it a refuge, a sump or what? I was told I don't need a skimmer, or other outside filters that this equimpment that takes up almost the whole underneath of my aquarium is all that I need...

aftrhrs

I call a sump a place where all your pumps, skimmer and live rock go. I call a refugium a place where you grow plants to have a natural filtration. Sounds to me like you have a refugium and a sump all in one but it is more a refugium than a sump :happyfish

redarizona

Thank you so much...I was wondering why it was taking so long...LOL...I know its a fairly new system, so thanks...now I know what to call it...:) :) :) :)

aftrhrs

I have heard of the miracle mud/plant set-up your talking about. The only system I seen it on was the set-up where an individual had a 4000 gallon tank in his basement. His website used to be mr4000.com but I think it has since been taken down because it was ruining the wood in his house. As far as I know his system worked well other than the evaporation.

beaslbob

Originally posted by redarizona
Thank you so much...I was wondering why it was taking so long...LOL...I know its a fairly new system, so thanks...now I know what to call it...:) :) :) :)

not familiar with the MM system but this thread is from my sump/refugium. If this had mud instead of sand would it be functionally similiar? I call it a combined sump/refug.
https://forums.saltwaterfish.com/t/82529/my-dyi-refug

redarizona