request feedback on 180g setup

W

wbradenpt

both positive and negative, don't be holding back. let me know what you think. appreciate any suggestions.

W

wbradenpt

both positive and negative, don't be holding back. let me know what you think. appreciate any suggestions.

W

wbradenpt

in particular, i'm new to using kalkwasser and calcium reactors. bought geo versions of both. currently have aquamedic dosing pump hooked up to kalkwasser reactor and ran tubing all the way to my big 44g bucket. have timer set to dose for 15 minutes every 2 hours and it seems to be just about right for keeping the level in the sump constant.
kind of worried though what might happen if timer were to fail in the on position. might have a bit of a flood. i have a tunze level controller that i haven't opened yet since the water level already seems to be under control. but thinking that maybe i should hook it up and maybe cut the kalkwasser dosing in half?
pH is at 8.2 and all water parameters are where they should be.
the kalkwasser pump has timer set to stir for 30 minutes every 6 hours. even so, the powder seems to be accumulating on the bottom of the reactor. not sure if this is normal or not. thinking that maybe it is normal and that when powder is gone that is when it is time to add more powder?
any help would be appreciated.

W

wbradenpt

by the way, the livestock was transferred from previous 140g oceanic setup.

W

wbradenpt

probably about 180-200 pounds of live rock
assorted mushrooms near the bottom
several zoos from midway up towards the top
1 green acropora top left
1 blue millipora top middle
1 soft coral on the right side
1 pretty big frogspawn on the left that probably needs to be fragged. bought the fragging tool and will attempt that pretty soon.
1 hammer coral
1 small green brain that is still very small despite having it for a couple of years. probably need to manually feed it, or maybe now that i am using kalkwasser and calcium reactors that may help.