Return pump

sugarfox03

I need some suggestions for an appropriate return pump for my 105g tank with a 20g refugium. I'm new to big tanks, so I have no idea how these pumps work. Are they like powerheads? I was told to get one that doesn't have to go in the water, is this a good idea? Any/all info is greatly appreciated!

lubeck

you can do what you want but i would reccomend a mag9.5 pump. read up on pumps and wiegh your options. this was a very depedable pump for my 110ga. i moved my filtration down to the basement so its being used a salt mixer and water change pump. have fun..

acrylic51

Mags are dependable pumps as stated as long as you don't turn them on and off alot......they just don't like that after a while.....I personally don't like submersible pumps, for the simple fact it eats up room in the sump/fuge, and besides it adds heat to the water and depending what type of lighting your running and how your canopy is built could be a deciding factor as well IMO.....I prefer external pumps....alittle more detail to plumbing, but super easy IMO to work with......I'm a Sequence fan, but to get one to run on that size tank would have to divert flow several ways to really make it manageable, but it's possible.......I also like BlueLine and Iwaki

sugarfox03

Thanks Lubeck and acrylic51! I will check them all out. I like the idea of an external pump, I will research all of those and see which would be best for my set up. Thanks again!

efishnsea

Hey Melody