saltwater cylce

dustinwebb

I need a little bit of help please. I am new to the hobby and so far and enjoying it. I have a 55g tank and stand, with a 60g wet/dry sealife system filter. 50lbs of LS, and right now only about 10lbs of live rock. Also got for my cycling process 6 damsels. I have had my tank going for about 2 weeks now, no problems, and my water tests show perfect. What can i do to speed up the cycling add more LR? The store where i got my setup and water tested said that my tank for some strange reason is ready to add new fish, that my cycling is done, is that possible? I just want some opinions on this, i am ready to get rid of the damsels and go for some percula clowns. Good idea??
thanks

ntvflgirl

Well, I doubt that your cycle is completed in only 2 weeks...sounds like your lfs is trying to sell you some things for your tank. Do you have a test kit? First you will see Ammonia rise. Then nitrites, then nitrates. Have you seen any of these spike yet? If not, then you are just beginning. If you want to get rid of the damsels...DO IT NOW!!! They are horrible little creatures, and very domineering, so good luck with that. If you want to speed your cycle up, you technically could add more live rock. In actuality, it will START your cycle faster, but there is just no telling how long it will take. Mine took 2 months. If you want to get things started really quickly, then take the damsels back to the lfs for credit, go to the grocery store and get a couple of raw shrimp from the seafood dept., and throw them in. Wait for the ammonia to spike, take them out, and just sit back and watch. Not very fun to look at, but will definately get the ball rolling. But no, this is not a good time to add the clowns. Sorry to burst your bubble, but one thing to remeber is to never listen to the guy at the lfs...UNLESS what he tells you is the same as what you've heard on this board FROM SEVERAL MEMBERS!! Good Luck, and Welcome.

fshhub