Saltwater problems

N

new@this

I'm just getting started on my new 55 gallon saltwater tank....i'm only @ day 2 and i am already running into problems....here it is: I mixed in my salt and there are particles on the bottom of the tank. I think they are salt deposits that just have not desolved yet....i have stired it around but they still go to the bottom....what do i do about it now?:confused: :confused: :(

ryebread

No problems yet.........just wait a little longer and the salt will disolve. Make sure that you keep up on your research and you should be on easy street. We are here to help. Good luck.
Welcome to the board.

ryeomans

It could well be undisovled salt - I wouldn't worry about it right now, you've got a long way to go before things will start to come together. Just make sure you have some circulation in the tank to help things disolve.

N

new@this

thank you, i've been reading some of the latest problems from other people and it looks like this stuff is a lot of work....about a month ago, i started looking into this but gave up when i didn't have any money....by chance, i got this 55 gal and stand form a friend and now i'm all excited again......one more question, is it ok to have live sand covering a layer of crushed coral sand substrate? or does it not really matter?

N

new@this

now i'm in big trouble!!!!:eek: I did use reef crystals synthetic sea salt...and i still have lines of it at the bottom...

gregzbobo

If you have a powerhead, drop it in the tank and plug it in. That'll stir things up, get the water moving and such, if you have a heater, put that in too and set it to around 78-80 degrees. Salt dissolves easier in warmer water, although the difference in your case may not be much difference.

slick

I had this problem too when I first mixed my salt and water. Even after a few days I still had a few little things on the bottom. I just put my sand right over it.

broomer5

Could also be calcium carbonate that has fallen out of solution.