Sand then rock?

youmademeink

I am new to the salt water squarium world and recently purchased a 46 gallon tank. I have all the necesary equipment to start it up, I was just wondering about the live sand and rock. Being that I do have somewhat of a budget (it's taken me a while to get everything to get to this point) how long after puting the sand in the water do I need to wait before I can put in the rock? And will there be any algae? I have read that I need to let the water cycle, but I was just curious as to how long would be a good idea. I appreciate any help you can offer.
Mel

halo_frk03

put the sand in and wait for it to setle, then place ur rock in there... how much rock are you putting in there? is it cured or uncured... the rock should start the cycle naturally and could last anywhere from 2 weeks - 8 weeks

michaeltx

some do it opposite and place the rock in then the sand it will help sand borrowing critters from toppling your rocks over.
HINT use dry base rock for the foundation anything below the sand line will dieoff !!
Mike

azfishgal

Originally Posted by MichaelTX
HINT use dry base rock for the foundation anything below the sand line will dieoff !!
Mike
I've also heard that if you put half dead rock and half live rock, your dead rock will become live. So it becomes live down to the sand line, is that right? We obviously don't want it to die off because that will cause a big cycle, right? I've also heard you can start with dead sand and add a cup of two live sand and then your entire sand base will become live eventually. Save on cost, right?

michaeltx

yes on all
if you mix dry base and lr rock the things that make LR live will migrate and populate the base rock making it alive. and the same thing with the sand.
mike

rad

I just installed my live rock last night and I do have some thats 'dug' in to the sand. Should I try and keep my live rock completely on top of the sand or is just a little bit ok?

michaeltx