Seahorse?

canadamoose

Hello,
I am relatively new to the hobby, compared to many of you, and am interested in starting a kelloggi seahorse tank. I have done my research and found that it is possible to feed a captive bred seahorse pair frozen food (if they are used to it). What are any of your thoughts? Is the kelloggi seahorse a good "beginner" seahorse (versus the Kuda seahorse- captive bred obviously)? How difficult is it in your opinion, not a book or other written source? And is there anything I have not thought of?
Thank You!!
P.S. How are ringed pipefish? Good for a 29 gallon biocube (I have not looked into them too much because I thought they were a difficult fish to keep)?

flower

Quote:
Originally Posted by Canadamoose http:///t/392668/seahorse#post_3488237
Hello,
I am relatively new to the hobby, compared to many of you, and am interested in starting a kelloggi seahorse tank. I have done my research and found that it is possible to feed a captive bred seahorse pair frozen food (if they are used to it). What are any of your thoughts? Is the kelloggi seahorse a good "beginner" seahorse? How difficult is it in your opinion, not a book or other written source? And is there anything I have not thought of?
Thank You!!
Hi,
Kelloggi seahorses that are CAPTIVE BRED only. They are as easy to care for as any fish. Because they are slow eaters and have no way to defend themselves against aggression, it is necessary to only have certain tank mates. At the top of the seahorses and pipe fish forum is a list of what can and can't live with them.
They will need a tall tank, the very best way to get your horses would be a nearby breeder or Seahorse Source, this site has some Erectus seahorses, no Kelloggi (Erectus SHs are awesome)...whatever you do, DO NOT get your horses from a pet store.