Seriously? Has anyone seen this video??

ophiura

Whether people like it, or agree with it, the reality is that the hobby does impact the natural reef. Many scientists would list this hobby as being a contributor to stress on reefs and a totally unecessary "luxury' hobby.
In my previous life I was a marine scientist, so I have some real world background here.
It is hard to argue that it is helping the oceans. They would argue that saying we are saving corals for repopulating is a feel good argument that is circular. If corals weren't harvested, fish weren't harvested, then there would be one less stress on the reef.
In addition, hobbyists are seen as a major contributing factor to the introduction of invasive species. This is a hard one to get around.
To argue that it is relatively less harmful than over fishing or the souvenir trade will not earn much praise or remove the criticism.
To argue that we need LR to have a more natural tank...they would argue why do you need the tank anyway.
I am not trying to insult anyone here but you have to see that they would counter any argument you make, with, quite frankly, a very legitimate argument in turn.
In many areas of the world where there are reefs, people have seen reefs as their life blood, specifically because they often rely on them for food. So they would care if they are damaged. Similarly many get tourist dollars in areas with good reefs, which may be at odds with harvesting for the aquarium trade.
The primary argument to me falls under a couple of things:
- brings familiarity of an ecosystem and thus the desire to potentially protect it - aka the Flipper effect. It was Flipper, Free Willy, etc that were individuals in captivity that brought attention to dolphins/whales in the wild. In particular it helped with tuna drift netting issues. Though the same can not necessarily be said with Finding Nemo, which undoubtedly sent huge numbers of wild caught fish to their certain deaths.