Setting up a 220 Gallon - Help with equipment

richamc01

After a very long debate, I've decided to purchase a 220 Gallon tank.
It measures in at 84X24X24 and will have two built in overflows. I need to know what equipment I will need to set this up. i am new to the hobby and I'm still researching. I haven't bought the tank yet as i wanted to see exactly what i was going to need. I currently have a 55 gallon set up for freshwater that I plan to use as my sump/refugium.
I know that I want a fairly aggressive reef tank. It may start out as a FOWLR but I do eventually want to be able to add some corals. As for what kinds of corals, I'm not sure. I'm going to look into the different kinds and see which ones I like. I know that the type of lighting depends on what kinds of coral I want.
As far as fish, I would like to have a porcupine puffer but ive been told that they are not reef safe. Has anyone ever put one in a reef tank? Other than that, its still pretty much up in the air. I am a fan of the Tangs but we will have to touch on this later.
As for now I just need to know all of the different equipment I will need. I'm not sure about the calcium reactors or what they do or if they are needed.

So...I need to know what everyone's opinions are on everything. Skimmer, lights, filtration, pumps, etc.
Please help me out. Ask me anything and I will do my best to answer your questions with the best of my knowledge.

S

saxman

You'll be needing:
Main return pump
I prefer externals (ReeFlo, Little Giant, Pan World, Iwaki to name a few), but the sump will need to be drilled for that.
If you go with a submersible, I'm REALLY liking the Sicce Syncra Silent Series (a 5.0 would do here)...they're a bit pricy, but are dead silent and are pretty decent in terms of power consumption. Mag drives are good solid pumps, and can be had for good prices. The larger mags will heat your water some tho, and they aren't the quietest in the world.