So...what's your "secret?"

novahobbies

Let me start off by saying the obvious: I am no expert at this. I'm just a hobbyist. I learn new things about these tanks of ours all the time.....and for me, that whole process of discovery is a big part of the appeal. I love watching the hobby evolve both on a meta level as a group, and on a personal level in my own living room aquarium.

That being said, I've been at this for a few years now.....and I've got a pretty nice aquarium to show for it. I get a few people who come over in person or see my tank online and ask me variations of the same question: "What's your secret?" That question, asked often enough, got me thinking about a good answer. What IS my secret?

Truth is, there is no secret. No magic pill, no secret sauce, no private potion that I add to the tank to make it look purty. But you probably already knew that. My personal "secret" is a combination of a few of the oldest and most obvious habits in our hobby. Water changes, stability, and patience.

I know there are a lot of people who have said "water changes are a thing of the past! Just dose your elements!" and, for them, they might be right. I also know what my tank used to look like when I didn't do regular water changes. Wasn't pretty. And I know what my tank looks like when I do perform regular changes. Hey, guess what? Suddenly it IS pretty! And the water changes are such a simple thing to do......I perform 2 water changes a month, either 15% or 20%, which means my total water change works out to about 35% monthly. It's not hard to do at all, once you get into a rhythm for it. Doing these two water changes every month has become an almost relaxing part of my maintenance routine, and it gives me a chance to get in and blow all the rocks down of any accumulated detritus....win-win, I suppose.