some people... (vent)

wangotango

During the summer I work as a grounds keeper on a driving range. When I go in in the morning (between 5:30 and 7 depending) I leave the front gate unlocked since not all the people who work in the clubhouse have a gate key, but I put the chain and padlock back through to keep it closed so that nobody ventures in before we open (9am). Next to the gate is a large sign that has the name of the place and our hours.
So I was out on the field working and I look back towards the clubhouse and there's this woman hitting balls. Not a bucket of balls, she was out of the field hitting balls around and chipping them backwards towards our chipping green. I went over to her and said that we don't open for another 45 minutes, and asked how she got in. She said since the gate was unlocked that she figured it was ok to come in. She then gave me the padlock that was on the gate! I told her I couldn't and wasn't going to sell her anything until we opened at 9. She said that was fine and walked away... Of course she left the gate half open, which of course meant that more people showed up (which I managed to shoo away).
Now previous times I've left the gate half open in case we were getting a delivery of something, and sometimes people came through thinking the wind blew the gate partially closed. That I can understand. But if the gate is closed so are we! You have to pass the sign that has our hours on it too. If the sign says "open daily 9am-9pm" and your car clock says "8:15" and the front gate is closed why the hell would you think it's ok to come in and hit a few before your tee time?
Four years of dealing with the stupid things golfers do, but this one topped my list...
Rant over...

reefraff

Depending on the state what she did could be considered breaking and entering. Some people just don't get it.

speg