starting over

valgae

this is so awesome! so excited to have a seahorse fourm. well i had a seahorse tank for about three weeks. now its just a tank. had 3 female h. erectus 24g pod lr/gorg/caulpera/ the works. my horses were good for about three weeks. and then poof.
they went down so fast. im not really a newbie i have a 55 that ive had for 2 years w/ sps. im thinking that it was water quality. i did regular changes but i guess what im asking is for those of you who are experienced help me set my tank up better. i would like to try again. any suggestions?

darthtang aw

How long was the tank set up before the horses were added, what kind of clean up crew was it, water temp, how often fed, what fed? and supplements used? How much live rock....basically give me as much info as possible.

valgae

24g @ 22lbs of lr fed @3times day w/ feeding dish w/ mysis. the crew was one large mex turbo,also quite a few stromatella @20 hermits(scarlets/blue)which kept disappearing. i really think it was the horses. catalina goby, caulpera, 2" sand bed. for filtration 2 canister filters. the pod has the 2 compartments in the back. i did a little mod on the tank and cut a hole on the back wall for one of my filters. i hooked up the outflow w plastic tubing and mde them double as ph but not really ph cuz they didnt have too much out put. u know what i mean and some cheato in the back. no sump/fuge.3 yellow gorgs, shrooms, yumas, rics, some zoos. i think thats about it.

monalisa

Originally Posted by Darthtang AW
How long was the tank up before you added the horses.....
?

I'm interested in this too.
Lisa...

valgae

a good 7 months i kind of took my time putting it together. seeded the sand bed from my 55 switched a few rocks from each tank also. for pod pop.

rykna

Where did you get your horses, and did you ask to see them be fed before you purchased them?

monalisa