starting over

I've been running a 55 setup for about 2 1/2 years now. Unfortunately, I was running it in ignorance - very infreqent water changes and tests, no skimmer, aand several other things. About 6 months ago, I began having problems with hair algae growth (I know now that the nitrates were a BIG factor), so my LFS told me to add a sailfin tang to eat the algae. Long story short, he brought ick with him, and wiped out all of my fish but 2 damsels. It was a bad experience, but has prompted me to do a lot homework, which I should have done a long time ago (thanks to this board for all the info that is available - Beths FAQ on QT's was invaluable). A bright side is that I have the opportunity to start over without having to buy new eqipment.
I have a few questions:
1) My existing tank was bought used thirdhand, and has some scratches and the silicone is deteriorating. I figure that this is the perfect time to buy a new tank to replace the old one. Anything I need to be careful of when I switch out? I am resisting the temptation to increase tank size because I already have equipment (stand, canopy, etc.) for this one.
2) Existing tank has a 3 chamber wet/dry (external overflow) with bio-balls. I have oredered an AquaC Urchin in sump skimmer (example of something I should have done a long time ago). The tank has a sand base of about 2 inches, but I am going to add sand to get a true DSB to go with the 65 pounds of LR. When I do this, should I continue to use the bio-balls, or is it possible to remove the bio-balls and to turn the wet/dry into a refugium (this is what I'd really like to do)? If so, how do I do this?