suggestions for my sick butterfly

spaghetti

i am a beginner and have had my tank setup for about 8 weeks. the tank completed its first cycle three weeks ago. i have 4 damsels, lemon butterfly, and flame angel. i think my butterfly is showing signs of ick, it has about five white spots on its caudal fin. i just noticed it this morning. the fish appears quite healthy and is eating fine. since i don't have a hospital tank and ick is a parasitic infection can i add copper to my tank to treat the butterfly as well as the other livestock. i have a 55 gallon fish-only tank. i would greatly appreciate any info or suggestions

the rock

the rock says...
if you don't have inverts and don't plan on having them and are going to be keeping some of the more disease sensitive fish then copper is a very good idea.

beth

Administrator
Staff member
Yes, treat your tank with copper, and maintain cooper levels at theraputic levels for a month AFTER all signs of disease disappears. Get a test kit that measures copper levels and keep it at the level recommended on the medication label. Also, if your sick fish appears fairly healthy still, you can give it a "freshwater" dip. This only if it still has the white spots on it. It is important to maintain the treatment even after everything looks normal again. Ick [white spots] drop off the fish and become free-swimming in the tank, and will re-invest your pets if you don't maintain the medication.

beth

Administrator
Staff member