The Eclipse 3

uahawkfish

This hobby is so addictive, I love it.
Having the 75 FOWLR in the other room, I find myself wanting to also do a 2.5 or an eclipse 3 nano right here next to the computer monitor on my desk! Is this crazy, should I just be brave enough to upgrade to corals in the one, or does anyone have a small nano elsewhere.
I was curious to see if you had trouble deciding which to stare at, lol, as in if one detracts from the other. ANyway, I think nanos are great ideas, whether I do one or not. Just wondering who shared my "torment"?

uahawkfish

And if anyone does enjoy a small nano on their desk or elsewhere, please share your setups and what corals/inverts/fish y'all enjoy! THANKS.

reefnut

Well I'm new to the nano world myself but we just set-up a Eclipse System 6. It's a six gallon with about 8-10 lbs of LR and 10 lbs of LS. We looked at the 3 but went with the six because of the available space for the lighting. A 32w PC retro fit lighting kit is about perfect IMO for the ES6. A fan is required because of heat produced by the PC.
I plan to keep a variety of soft corals, cleaner shrimp, snails & crabs.
It will be in the bedroom. I think falling asleep to the sounds of running water would be nice :) .
BTW, make sure you reed the "Nano Police" post.

uahawkfish

Oh I understand, I mean no offense, I respect the skill and patience smaller nano tanks require, and of course agree that putting ANY fish in something small is wrong. I meant just a hi ouput light and 1-3 small corals that would just swish back and forth in the current. . . .very soothing!
Good luck with your ES6, it sounds great!

reefnut

I know you meant no offense :) . Just wanted to point out that thread because of the good information it contains.
Good luck,

leigh