Total NEWBIE!!!!!

coolguy818

All right everyone, I'm completely new to the Saltwater world. I have a Freshwater African Cichlid tank, and this is my first attempt at Saltwater.
And i'm experiencing some major problems. I setup my tank about 3 weeks ago here are the specs:
29 Gallon
Skilter 250
2 Maxi-Jet 1200 Power Jets
All-Glass Heater
40 Pounds of Crushed Coral
68 Pounds of Live Rock (Cured)
Salt Water came from the Fish Store
According to my Fish Store Rep after 5 days I got:
10 Blue Leg Hermits
10 Nessarius Snails
2 Emerald Crabs
3 days ago I added: (I am impatient)
10 Scarlet Hermits
2 Cleaner Clams
2 Brittle Stars
20 Turbo Snails
1 Coral Banded Shrimp
Yesterday I added: (Still Impatient)
1 Clown Fish
2 Peppermint Shrimp
1 Fire Shrimp
As you may have noticed the second add came after I checked out this site.
My goal is to build a small Reef tank and see how that goes. Before I make an investment in what I wanted to get... 400 gallon Reef...
Some of the Turbo Snails didn't make the delivery, one of the Scarlet Hermits Died. It was one of the biggest Hermits I've ever seen. And this morning i woke up to the exoskelton of my Fire shrimp just floating...... And my Clown just hangs out in the top corner...... :help:
Should I be worried
Here is some pics of the tank.

triga22

Well its possible that your tank inhabitants may die. A cycle will start from these clowns. I would also suggest a test kit.

michaeltx

do you have any test kits?
a tank setup that way is a disaster waiting to happen
it takes about 4-6 weeks for a tank to stabilize during that time toxic compounds will build up in the tank until the bacteria colonies start to grow and eat them.
the LFS had you add things that are the WORST to put into a new tank
10 Blue Leg Hermits
10 Nessarius Snails
2 Emerald Crabs
10 Scarlet Hermits
2 Cleaner Clams
2 Brittle Stars
20 Turbo Snails
1 Coral Banded Shrimp
1 Clown Fish
2 Peppermint Shrimp
1 Fire Shrimp