Updated picture of Blue Spotted Ribbontail

babyb

how long have you had him, i have had two and both died, they are very hard to take care of but im sure you know that, does yours eat, they are imo the prettiest ray, i love them there spots are so colorful

peter ray

Yes, I have heard these are hard rays to take care of. I have had him for almost 1 1/2 years. He eats...alot. He loves ghost shrimp, frozen krill, mysis shrimp, silversides, live guppies and minnows. I alternate his food around so he never gets bored of one thing and I supplement his food with vitamins. He always loves ghost shrimp. He likes to do his "I'm a hunter" thing!!!

babyb

holy crap a year and a lalf, thats amazing, really shows you know what you are doing
i am in awww
what size tank do you have,
again im very impressed

peter ray

Thanks! I'm still learning too. I just got lucky! I raised him in my office reef tank (95 gallons) at first and then transfered him to a 180 gallon tank at home. He was pretty small when I first got him and he's grown a bit. Here is is about a year ago (in the office, not at home), swimming around with his fish buddies. He will even eat from my hand! One day I was putting a piece of food on a feeding stick and he popped his head up and down at the top of the tank, as if he were begging! I just reached down and he took it! So cool! Most of the time I use long prongs to put frozen food in and dump the live ghost shrimp in. It's pretty fun to watch him hunt.

babyb

again i will say im in awww, i remember that pic from your office but i didnt know it was the same ray, they are my favorite, i wish ihad a tank suited for a ray but i dont

miamireefr

Originally Posted by fishkid2
Were you afraid of him bitting your hand off? Don't they have some chumpers?