uv sterilizers and ich?

ssweet1

Can ich be treated by purchasing a sterilizer? Or is it to prevent it? I am wondering if a fish that begins to show symptoms of ich could get rid of it if a sterilizer is installed to the main display.

E

exile415

Fish that show ich it cannot be treated by a uv. Uv's kill parasites and other bacteria. Sometiems even good bacteria. That's why "pros" refuse to use this. As you can see i am far from a pro. that's why I use one

murph145

a lot of so called "pro's" use them..... they help in reducing free floating bacterias from a tank.... this mean it wont kill ich that is on a fish since its on the fish.... it will only kill the lil bugs as they pass the path of the uv light zapping it and killing it....
u would need to treat your fish in quaratine and then put a uv filter on to help sterilize your tank for the future ... once your fish is better you can reintroduce him back and everything should be fine....
i had a bad ick outbreak probably a year and a half ago when i had a fish only tank.... after medicatiing the fish and adding the uv sterilizer to the tank attached to one of my fluval 404's i have not had one fish related issue in over a year and a half.... i have about 12 fish in my 100 gallon reef tank....
many "pro's use an uv filter on there reef tanks .... it helps....
i have about 20 different kinds of corals....
5 different types of anemones
12 different fish including a blue hippo tang
and all are doing fine with the use of a uv
i might not be a pro .... yet..... but im a good intermediate

scubadoo

Some folks swear by UV's but they do little to combat the disease. There is really no reason to add a UV to a well-run system. Water flow, exposure to UV, etc all play a part in the effectiveness. Their impact on parasite control is marginal.