Wanting to start a Dwarf Lion Fish Tank

nick0685

I was wanting to get some input on dwarf lion fish. I have been doing reef tanks for about 5 years and have been wanting to have a lion fish tank. I have recently purchased a 30 gallon setup, but haven't done anything with it yet. I am wanting to put a dwarf lion fish in this tank and was wanting some input on feeding techniques such as what to feed, best method for weening them from live food to frozen, what live foods to feed, then what other types of items to include in there diet. What type of environment should I setup. I
Have been reading alot of the old post and have gotten some great information from them and I have read the book Lion fishes and other scorpion fishes by Frank Marini. In my experience personal information from people who have been doing this for a while usally tends to be pretty good stuff. Any help, advice, personal stories, anything is greatly appreciated. Just trying to make sure I have all that I need to make sure I do this right.

S

saxman

You've done yourself a great service by getting and reading Frank's book. Besides having a lot of great info in it, it's filled with great photos. In fact, several of our personal fish are featured, including the cover shot of our P. volitans (check the acknowledgements for Renee Coles-Hix, who is not only my wife, but is Cranberry here on RC).
In fact, Renee is currently "pretty-ing up" our own article on lionfish so it can "go live", but I digress...
First, I recommend either a fuzzy (Dendrochirus brachypterus) or a green/Hawaiian (D. barberi). The fuzzy would be my first choice, hands down, altho I really like D. barberi (they just aren't as pretty as adults).
Here's a blurb from the article on housing your lionfish:
Housing Your Lionfish: