"Waste Water"?

caspervtx

I am just getting started. I live in Northeast Florida where the water table is relatively close to the surface and near to the St. Johns.
I realize we, responsible aquarists, are not do just dump livestock into the environment if we get tired of it or it grows too large or whatever. But what about "waste water" from the tanks. If we do 20% water changes - or worse given marine diseases - what is the position on ridding ourselves of the water byproduct of the hobby?
Casper

flower

Water evaporates, salt does not...I use my waste water on my driveway and sidewalks to kill the plants that grow in the cracks. The salt is harmless to the environment and allot better than the chemicals they sell for that purpose.
I read somewhere that water treatment plants use salt to clean water in its process. So it can't be all that bad.

salt life

Originally Posted by CasperVTX
http:///forum/post/3077732
I am just getting started. I live in Northeast Florida where the water table is relatively close to the surface and near to the St. Johns.
I realize we, responsible aquarists, are not do just dump livestock into the environment if we get tired of it or it grows too large or whatever. But what about "waste water" from the tanks. If we do 20% water changes - or worse given marine diseases -
what is the position on ridding ourselves of the water byproduct of the hobby?
Casper
Can you explain the part about "or worse given marine diseases"?
I'm not sure what you mean by that.

flower

Originally Posted by Salt Life
http:///forum/post/3078096
Can you explain the part about "or worse given marine diseases"?
I'm not sure what you mean by that.

I think the OP meant that if we flush water down the drain or on the ground that if there is disease from sick fish, will it hurt the enviroment?

caspervtx

Originally Posted by Flower
http:///forum/post/3078114