Water Conditioner and Skimmer Problem

ravechild

How long after adding water conditioner will my skimmer stop going crazy? I added the conditioner about a week ago to my new saltwater while it was mixing (tap water).
On Tuesday I upgraded to my new tank and used this water to fill the tank. Now I am trying to get everything hooked up and when I plugged in my skimmer it started foaming like crazy. I have been using this skimmer for 6 months now and have had no real issues with it.
It is currently on the lowest setting and is overflowing like crazy. The only things that have changed in this setup is that I am now using the skimmer in sump insted of hang on, and I added water conditioner to the water while it was mixing. I figure it has to be the conditioner that is causing this.
The skimmer is a Coralife Super Skimmer model 125 running in sump. I have tried making adjustments to pump tube length and like I said it is currently set at the lowest possible setting.
So how long can I expect this to last??

peter1215

I have a redsea berlin and i usely lower the air intake to minimal for about six hours then gradually increase it until its bakc to normal settings. this usually takes place the same day .

ctgretzky9

Originally Posted by RaveChild
How long after adding water conditioner will my skimmer stop going crazy? I added the conditioner about a week ago to my new saltwater while it was mixing (tap water).
On Tuesday I upgraded to my new tank and used this water to fill the tank. Now I am trying to get everything hooked up and when I plugged in my skimmer it started foaming like crazy. I have been using this skimmer for 6 months now and have had no real issues with it.
It is currently on the lowest setting and is overflowing like crazy. The only things that have changed in this setup is that I am now using the skimmer in sump insted of hang on, and I added water conditioner to the water while it was mixing. I figure it has to be the conditioner that is causing this.