What are my posiblitys

jar3d

Ok first off I am new to the board. Names Jar3d as you can see. So hello everyone.
Anyways right now i own one ten gallon tank and basically what are the possiblitys with it if any im aware its a very small tank but im new to salt water fish,reefs,etc.. so any simple basic advice and what i can do with a 10 gallon tank would be helpfull.
Thanks.

farslayer

Maybe some nice PC lighting, a few shrooms and zoos, maybe a small fish or two. I'd go for some nice easy corals, you're limited as to fish.

starkissed

I myself started off with a 10gal tank. I now have a 46 gal and I can tell you from experiance. UPGRADE just a bit now to like a 30gal. Almost everyone I have met wants a bigger tank. I found a 20" 96w PC and was able to keep some easy coral in it. I would sugest sticking witha damsal or a clown, or maybe even a clown goby. I wouldn't put more then 2 fish max in there, and that is pushing it. It is exteramly hard to keep good water quality in a tank that small. If it is slightly off it is a big deal in 10gallons of water vs. 30 or so gallons. It is much easier to make a mistake. Also with evaporation i found it very hard to keep and maintain a study salinity. now when I look back the money i put into exuipment for a tank so small was a waste. You will fill up a 10 gallon so fast and get bored with it, then be stuck purchasing equipment all over again for a larger tank. JMO

jar3d

well I have yet to put any money in the tank I just have the tank its self, but I dont want to go to large or a tank and not be ready for it cause this will be my first saltwater tank. So maybe just go ahead and upgrade to something like a 30? how many fish and what kind of fish are good for that size and me just starting out?

starkissed