What do I need

polarice18

I am new to saltwater tanks. I have all the basic equipment, tank, stand, protien skimmer, sufficient filter, heater. I have a 55 gallon tank and I need to know how much of what chemicals and products to use to get the water going. Things such as crushed coral and different chems. I have no idea how much I need to put in or where to get them, so if someone could help me that would be awesome

barry cuda

I'd like to add a 2nd book suggestion. The New Marine Aquarium by Michael S. Paletta (published by TFH) is a great book that is more approachable than many and provides a lot of very useful info. I also have the Conscientious Marine Aquarist and while I agree that it's a great source of information and especially some information (such as the chapter on cyanide capture) that I haven't seen covered well anywhere else, it isn't as easy to read and tends to be more abstract imho than the Paletta book.
Just my $.02

808smokey

A lot of people will go against the crushed coral (CC). I have about 1" of CC and about 1.5-2" of play sand from Home depot. I had 4" of Play sand and it look retarded in my tank. It's only 20" tall. You'll need a bag of "Instant Ocean" (salt). I used tap water but a lot of people will lean towards Reverse Osmosis water $$$. You can use a piece of shrimp from the grocery store to start your cycle, that's the cheapest way. Some people will suggest Live rock and Live sand but that's $$$. You could try a damsel or two but you run the risk of killing them do to poor water quality. You'll need a good test kit to watch the levels of Ammonia, PH, Nitrite and Nitrates. You'll also need a Specific Gravity meter (SG) it measures the amount of salt in the water. Other than that I would get a good book and read through this forum and any other sites you can find although I think this one is the best so far.
Just my .02¢

birdy

I would agree to most of the above suggetions, especially the two book suggestions.