What eats *crap*?

bonolover

I have a 20 gal tank that is 9 weeks old. I started with CC but switched to LS last weekend. I currently have a cleaner shrimp, saron shrimp, halloween crab, 3 tiny blue leg hermit crabs and 2 astrea snails. After reading the posts here, I don't think I want to get a starfish. So what can I get to eat the *crap* that is on my sand bed?

S

sodium, chlorine, hydrogen2, oxegen

Im not an expert on *crap* but wont the LS(bacteria and worms) eat the *crap*? I thought they would?

goofyreefer

Had to laugh when i saw that topic title. That would be on my top ten for sure. Good question though since I'm in a similiar situation. Do snail scavenge on the sand or within the sand bed?

bonolover

Glad I made you laugh - was trying to be polite!!! But I've good a lot of *crap* in the tank. It's got to be coming from my shrimps, and possibly my halloween crab, cuz my blue hermits are tiny (putting out the size *crap* I have would give those little guys hemmoriods!). About my snails, they do a good job on keeping my brown algae off, but they pretty much stay on the rocks. Every time they need to move to another rock, they seem to use the sides of the tank to move around, not really liking the sand too much.

susiepan

The crap is probably coming from your snails, cuz I'll tell you, mine crap up a storm...It amazes me..but anyway..if you have LS..the brisle worms will eat the poop..with out a doubt..Im not sure your LS bed is deep enough though..
~Susie :D

kris walker

Guys, there seems to be lots of talk about what goes into these critters. Are you suggesting nothing comes out?
kris