What size tank, and best fish

mandyfishgirl

Hi, I am new to saltwater aquariums. I have been planning to have one this christmas. I have had alot of experience with freshwater, so I know some of the basics. I know that saltwater is going to be more work, and I am prepared. I borrowed tons of books on saltwater fishcare. I learned a whole lot, so I am not going to be stupid. I studied about it for a month. I will soon set up a tank, and let it run for a month or so.And what I read from the book , I will start out with a pair of clownfish. And after 2 weeks or more, I will add a royal gramma, affter that a blennie, goby, and shrimp. After enough experience a mandarin maybe. Is this a good way to start out? And what size tank you reccomend? I was thinking 75 or 80? Is that too big? And I am buying a cabinet with a sump and canister filter. And I dreamed of having a saltwater aquarium, and I will work hard for it. Please give me helpful advice, and please no insultinig answers thankyou.

Hi again, I found a good 80 gallon 5 foot long with cabinet all of 60 on craigslist! I was really shocked, it was a miracle, it is in good condition. The man who had it just wanted to get rid of it, plus he makes custom cabinets. It is a little dusty and has a few minor scratches, but once I clean it, it will look good as new. I am planning to keep live coral, so I am resarching about that. My dad is into that, and he has plans for the pump filter. The tank I have will definetly hold the amount of fish I plan on getting. I cannot wait.My dad also always wanted saltwater aquarium. Thanks for your