What to feed a Saddleback Butterfly

mookie3127

I'm fairly new to saltwater after mastering fresh for several years. I've dabbled with salt tanks a couple of times over the years, but never really getting too involved until about 8 months ago. I recently bought a Saddleback Butterfly from local pet store that I use. It's only been a few days, but he hasn't eaten much since being introduced to my tank. He's VERY active and is constantly going from one end to the other, up about 3/4 of the tanks height, and is all over the place. I've tried frozen brine shrimp, flake food, and something called "Formula One" that says it's made up of fresh seafood's and algae. He's tried and then spit out the brine shrimp and flakes while showing little interest in the Formula One other than to check it out and watch it float to the bottom. Any other good suggestions for what to feed him?

nicetry

How large is the fish? Sometimes adult specimens are reluctant to eat. Ask the lfs what they were feeding.
Try some mysis shrimp. Go to a gorcery store that has a fish department and buy some small scallops or clams. Mince these up well and see if the butterfly will take them. A healthy specimen should take to prepared foods in short order but bear in mind butterflies can be touchy and some simply don't adapt well. How large is your system and is there a lot of live rock for grazing? IME, bf's do best in well established tanks with lots of live rock.

i love fish

Butterfly fish r really hard to get to eat, good luck keep us posted and let us know how u went, I haven't had any luck in getting any of my butterflies i had in the past to eat, and they all died about 3 weeks after the day of purchase even though i had plenty of 'vegetation' growing on my rocks and some corals.
Hope it works out for u.

srfisher17