What would it take?

A

arlene1995

Hi!
I am new to SPS corals and so far have only had softies. Now, my question is, what kind of lighting would it take for me to keep Acropora sp. in my 28 Gallon Euro tank. Dimensions are: 24"L x 12.25"W x 18.75"T. Right now, I have a Coralife Aqualight at 65w. All help is appreciated! Thanks!

A

arlene1995

Hi!
I don't have the ability to run Metal Halides, but I can run T5s. If I used a twin bulb fixture with aluminum foil as the reflectors along with my Aqualight, would I be able to support SPS? Also, I have a 50/50 bulb in the Aqualight. Thanks for the help!

chilwil84

2 t5s with a single reflector (not homemade) might let u keep a montipora capricornious or digita but the colors might not be good. look up current usa products they are a reasonably priced brand.

wangotango

Honestly, ditch the PC all together and invest in a decent T5ho fixture like a TEK or Aquactincs.
The twin bulb fixtures that hold stock lamps won't run T5ho lamps, and alluminum foil is not very reflective compared to polished alluminum or micro IV finish.
-Justin

A

arlene1995

Is there a difference between T5-HO lamps and just plain T5s?

wangotango

Originally Posted by Arlene1995
http:///forum/post/2655392
Is there a difference between T5-HO lamps and just plain T5s?
Yes, the T5ho run at a higher wattage. These are the type you want to use for a reef. 24" lamps are 24w, 36" are 39w, 48" are 54w, and 60" are 80w.
-Justin

A

arlene1995

Hi!
Ok... I didn't know that. I have seen that there are also T6 fixtures. If I put a 4-bulb T6 fixture on along with my Aqualight, would I be anywhere near keeping SPS? Thanks for the help!

nycbob

i'd just wait and save up for a decent t5 fixture b4 buying any sps. why risk having ur sps die and waste ur money?

gatorwpb

Originally Posted by nycbob
http:///forum/post/2657711
i'd just wait and save up for a decent t5 fixture b4 buying any sps. why risk having ur sps die and waste ur money?