White spot? Ich?

heithingi

Hello,
What exactly does white spot or ich look like? I am fairly new to this hobby and tend to be a tad paranoid. None of my fish have ever been ill, but I noticed a white mark on my niger trigger's head today. I believe it is either sand or he scratched himself on his favorite rock, but would like to be sure. Most books discuss these illnesses, but are not really clear as to concise descriptions.
Thanks,
Lynda

pufferlover

Don't panic, my Niger seems to have a habit of scraping its head in the barnacle where it hangs out (he is a small baby one). Every so often he has a white spot on his head but by later in the day it is gone. Ick is small almost pin sized white spots that appear and as I have found it usually seems to be noticed first on their fins. Now you say you have read your books and there is also a good description here on SWF under hobbiest Info (Opening Page of Site top right).

heithingi

Hi Pufferlover,
Thanks for the input. I will check out the website right now! One of the books I have shows an angel, I believe, with little tiny white dots everywhere. My niger does not have that at all, he sounds exactly like yours, actually. He has a particular rock with a small hole in it he just seems determined to sleep in, I think he scraped himself.
Thanks again!
Lynda

pufferlover