Why you should never use tap water

clint_reno

I just read through the lengthy thread regarding distilled water. This forum is great, and it is always great to share opinions. But it it got a little scary.
With that said, I think we have to always gently steer newbies in a more cautious direction, as the cost and frustration from mistakes can be great.
The argument against tap water is simple. There is no standard, it is often different from town to town. Underground pipes can be very old, resevoirs are often exposed to open air contaiminents.
Tap water is fine for a human bath or shower. But many people filter tap water just to make it taste better. Many avoid drinking it altogether.
So listen you newbies! I am a newbie! I'll admit it. But ask yourself, after you buy the tank, the equipment, etc. After you spend all that loot, do you really want to try and establish a successful SW tank with water that comes out of your tap?
Give yourself and your fish every reasonable advantage. Use distilled or R/O water.
:yes:

shrimp134

Hallalua...thanks for finally posting this for everyone out there who is trying to use TAP water..."koolkev" cough cough...lol...use RO/DI water...its the best and its the best for your tank!

koolkev

Hey was not going to use tap i was going to use rain water now i know that even in west fargo ND there is a little acid rain sorry shrimps for being humen

I have to agree... For the money spent on everything else in this hobby, it just doesn't make sense to skimp when you get to the part with the water!
Think about it, by weight, by volume and by importance, the water is the biggest part of the system. By cost, if you have to buy it gallon by gallon, it falls in the middle of the range. One slightly rare fish easily costs more than the water you'll put in the tank. Why risk it's life?

badkharma