Would like to try some SPS

ciroth

I have a 150 reef tank and would like to try some SPS corals. Anyone have a good guide I could read? or am I better off giving specs and getting advice here? Also, please don't use many acronyms as I am still learning all of them

gatorwpb

Hey there and thanks for asking, this is a good place to ask questions.

Im not familiar with any guides really.
To get an idea if your tank and system is ready for sps, we need to know more about the tank itself.
How old is the tank?
How much live rock and live sand?
What are you tank's water quality parameters? Specifically, salinity (specific gravity), nitrate, pH, calcium, alkalinity, and magnesium.
What kind of temperature swings do you have during the day?
What type of filtration (sump, refugium, wet/dry)?
Do you use and if so, what type of protein skimmer?
What type of lighting do you have?
How often do you do water changes?
Do you use a 2-part solution to dose caclium and alkalinity or do you have a calcium reactor?
Also, certain fish may pick at sps coral polyps but that might not be an initial concern.
I know its a lot of questions, but if you can get these issues in line from the beginning, it will greatly increase your likelihood of success with SPS.

ciroth

Originally Posted by GatorWPBhttp:///forum/post/2868337
Hey there and thanks for asking, this is a good place to ask questions.

Im not familiar with any guides really.
To get an idea if your tank and system is ready for sps, we need to know more about the tank itself.
How old is the tank?live rock 10+ years, sand 2 years and tank little less than 2 years. (my tank broke about 2 years ago and had to replace it and move everything over.
How much live rock and live sand?