Yellow Tang has brown spots

lizzy

Hi Everyone. I am very new at this and I just set up my tank 3 weeks ago. It was going through the cylceing process when this lady came into my work and asked me if I wanted to take her fish from her cuz she was converting into a fw tank and she was just going to flush the fish if i didnt want them. well i didnt want them to get flushed and so i went over to her house and the yellow tang already had some sort of disease. I took almost all of her water and put it in my tank...i have like only 6 pounds of live rock and i have like 40 pounds live sand. Test results last night were ammonia 0, nitrites 0 and nitrates 40 (i know its high...and i'm guessing i need to do a water change for them to go down?) and PH is 8.2 I have a fluval 404 and two power heads....and i am going to get a skimmer soon..but dont have one yet. I know that they were useing tap water...they didnt really know what they were doing. I am at work and dont have my camera where my tank is set up so i cant get a pic of it but its this brown around its eyes on its belly and a little on fins. Its also got these weird ---- color lines down its nose and by its eyes. Sorry I dont have a pic! I hope someone can help. My LFS said to do a fresh water dip. He said to put it in some fresh water for 10 min and then take it out and do that every day till its gone. Is this what i should do?? Thanks for any help you can give! Lizzy

beth

Administrator
Staff member
Go ahead and take some shots so we can take a look at him.
Cudos to you for saving the fish! Shame on that woman who flushes. :mad:
Describe more about how you have your tank set up. Likely the fluval is part of the problem with nitrites. You have LS? How much?

lizzy

I have about 40 pounds of live sand mixed with 20 of non live sand....its the stuff from the fish store so i know that its okay...its not play sand or anything. Would it be good for me to put in new carbon in the filter??

lizzy