Bought a frag from my LFS

bang guy

Good light, good current, Calcium & Alkalinity in good levels. The more you target feed them the faster they will reproduce.

pegasus

Look like protos to me, too. For heaven's sake... don't feed them! Two or three will turn into dozens in no time with just good lighting and water conditions. I'd rather mine be a little hungry than to have to thin them out. Just saying...

Mandymae

I'm new to all of this. So are these something I shouldn't have bought? Or is it they multiply fast?

Mandymae

Ok well that makes me feel better. This is the first coral I've bought so, buying one that was 50, 100 dollars just didn't make sense. Thanks

pegasus

Congrats on getting your first coral, Mandy! The "beginner" corals are usually fairly cheap. If you're not careful, a time will come when $50 to $100 for a coral isn't too awfully bad... if you want it bad enough. :eek:

Kristin1234

I have some of these as well. I thought they were some kind of polyp, I target feed them coral frenzy and they do multiply quickly. I had just one and within about 6 weeks I now have like 7 polyps!

Mandymae

20150913_142139.jpg
I did have some questions about lighting. I have 18 in T8 15 watt white and actinic blue as well as some small led white. I don't know what is what but this is what I have. Should I have another spectrum? As you can see in the picture it is brighter on the right side (led) and more blue on the left. Because of the 2 -15watt -t8

Last edited:

pegasus

Is this your new 55? How many 18" T8 bulbs does your lighting have? While visible light is good for our viewing pleasure, it's more important to provide corals what they need. You should think about what you want the tank to look like a few years from now. Do you envision it with a few soft corals? Lots of soft corals? Soft corals and a few LPS corals? Soft corals, LPS, and SPS corals? I know it's a hard question, but the time to plan and prepare for the future tank of your dreams is now.