10 gallon

manu

i have got 1 ten gallon tank and i dont know whta to do with it, should i go for the nano reef or should i use it as a hospital tank or quarentine for my 75?
plz help i must decide to night

manu

thanxs for the info but if i have no experience when will i learn,
i will probable do the hospital tank though

ruaround

There's no time like the present...If you have the means to do one, and you are willing to read about the maintenence Why not try...we all at one point didnt have any reef experience, and if we didnt try it we still wouldn't...just my .02 :D !!!

jeo

well due to the fact that 10 gallon tanks cost $10 you could just get another and do both :D

Originally posted by fallen04:
<strong>nano reefs are very easy to maintain and fun too have.</strong><hr></blockquote>
That is not always true...
Nano reefs tend to be much harder to keep, and not to mention much more $$$$$.
The reason is, that nano reefs need much better filteration than the bigger reefs(50+). If something goes wrong(lets say you have ich), then rather of 1 fish getting ich, the whole tank will get it! Also, you need much better filteration than in bigger reefs due to such a small tank. Nano's might seem easy, but there not. I have ahd 1 before i got my 85, turned out everything died after 3 months due to ammonis spike, NOTHING LIVED! I would say hospital tanks are much better. You will need hospital tanks, trust me. Everything you get much be cured before putting it in the tank. The fish you might have bought, might have ich in it, the coral you might buy could be infested with parasites, the rock you have could carry ammonia...
I would say get a nano when you are much more experenced at this hobby, you just started. So, do the hospital now, and maybe in about 8 months we will talk about a nano. First try to maintain the tank you got, before getting a new one. NO ONE HAS MENTIONED A REFUGIUM! this are great to have and can double as a hospital tak if needed too...