12 Gallon Eclipse...Help

tl11001001

Hello,
I have a 12 gallon Marineland Eclipse that I would like to turn into a nano tank. I have little experience with saltwater as I have only kept freshwater fish. My questions are; Can I upgrade the lighting and if so to what and how? What should I keep in my tank? I would really like 1 or 2 clown fish, some hermit crabs, shrimp, and about 15 lbs of live rock. A co-worker has offered me about 5 gallons of water from his established 75 gallon tank and a few pieces of live rock will this help cycle the tank faster? Any help would be appreciated.
additional supplies
power head for a 20 Gallon
Bio Cube protine skimmer
20 lbs of live sand

well it would help to remove the top since the filtration isnt the best and buy some decent lights as well. Id almost recommend just buying an all in one like a small biocube or something

mboswell1982

aye, u can get a 14g biocube for roughly 130 bucks with no stand, and thats what you'd be better off buying then trying to mod that eclipse

ajer

If you are not putting corals or Light dependent invertebrates in, the eclipse's lighting is fine...Upgrade the filter.. use something like the SubCurrent Internal Wet/Dry Filter.

noble5328

I had the same tank and recently upgraded, I used the stock filter but changed it weekly. I had 2 clowns in it, and a firefish and red shrimp + snails and crabs and it did great. I did try some mushrooms and some zoas and they did ok but I ran stock lighting and when I moved them to my new tank with the t5's they did much better. I have seen a light upgrade kit for it and I felt that if I did that added a nano powerhead my zoa's and mushrooms would have done great, but fell in love with the sea max so I am planning to still make the upgrades and give the tank to my Mom.

A 14g biocube is closer to 200. I dont know were mboswell is getting his, but if they are that cheap he should buy in bulk and sell them to ppl.