36g?

TopherNAlaska

36g considered a nano? I've heard they are actually not good for beginners, as they are harder to keep. My tank will be 36g and I'm fresh on the block. Live rock? Fake Rock? Live sand? As a biginner what is best to start? Do I need the whole under tank sump system? Totally overwhelming the amount of plumbing I've seen on YouTube. I'm not afraid of getting to that point but I'm just starting out.

TopherNAlaska

36g considered a nano? I've heard they are actually not good for beginners, as they are harder to keep. My tank will be 36g and I'm fresh on the block. Live rock? Fake Rock? Live sand? As a biginner what is best to start? Do I need the whole under tank sump system? Totally overwhelming the amount of plumbing I've seen on YouTube. I'm not afraid of getting to that point but I'm just starting out.
I want a good echo system and I don't want fish deaths and plagues of disease.

bang guy

First order of business is to determine what the long range plan is for the 36 gallon. I would not consider it a nano tank, just a small saltwater.

Try to find a picture of a small SW system that you're looking to be similar to.

The sump type system increases your chance of success but is a lot more initial work to set up. You can be successful without it, it just makes it easier to succeed after the initial setup.

lmforbis

First off, I'd invest in a good book. This one has been highly reccomended.
http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/the-conscientious-marine-aquarist-robert-m-frenner/1119159758?ean=9781890087999

I'd do at least some live rock + some dry rock. Dry rock is cheap live rock is pricey. Having a little live rock will make your dry rock live in a few weeks. I'd skip the live sand and just get regular argonite sand (not silica sand) it will become live pretty quickly.