5-gallon Eclipse Nano

cbshark

Hey there. This is the first time I have posted in this forum and have a question. Has anyone ever set up a 5 gallon nano in an eclipse? I just set one up about two weeks ago in our baby's room and last night I installed a 32 watt custom sealife retro fit 50/50 light. Water temp seems to rise to around 80-81 degrees which doesn't totally concern me, but the light is so bright is crazy? Is there such a thing as too much light? I now have About 3-4 pounds of live rock, 1 coral banded shrimp, 3 tiny domino damsels, 3 tiny bumblebee snails and three small hermit crabs. I plan on eventually adding coral, mushrooms, caulerpa and such. How does this sound? Any suggestions? I currently run the factory filter system and also a mini powerhead for circulation. Any input or criticism would be greatly appreciated. I am new to this and do not want to make any fatal mistakes.

krunk

sounds good, but you shouldnt have that many fish.you probaly should go with one clownfish,or whatever SMALL Fish you would like, you could probaly throw in a goby or two. but no, no such thing as too much light. the 32 watter will be just fine.

cbshark

Thanks alot. My damsles are all maybe 1 inch each. I have thought about moving 1 of them but i'll wait and see how things turn out. The only place I have to move them is my 125 with 15" and 22" banded cats and 18" eel and large damsels which I now won't make for a long lifespan for the little guy.

ryebread

Hi CBSHARK!
Where in Cincy are you located?
I have a 2.5 gallon Eclipse set up on my desk at work with some button polyps....a few star polyps and a cleaner shrimp.