A few questions :-)

M

mitch24

Hey guys

I am pretty new at marine fish keeping, and I found this site to be a great help. But, I do have a million questions, and I don't trust the people in the fish stores, because everyone tells me something different

I apologize for asking so many questions in one post

I have a 75 gallon tank, with 2 Fluval 404 filters and a 15 watt UV Sterilizer. Is that enough? Should I put on a protein skimmer?
How does changing the water every so often, help the tank. I thought the reason we cycled the tank was to remove all the bad stuff from fresh water... So, doesnt putting more fresh water into the tank negate the cycle? I know you are supposed to, I just cant figure out why...
I have a yellow tang in there, and I read that they like lettuce
Does that mean I can just chop up pieces of store bought lettuce, and throw it into the tank?
I feed my fish a lot of frozen Brine Shrimp, but I heard they like live food more...
The only thing is, Im afraid of parasites from live food... Is this a legitimate concern, and should I stick with the frozen food, or is it safe to feed them live shrimp every so often?
How many fish can you keep in a 75 gallon tank? I like to keep it under-populated, because I feel it's safer... I only have 4 or 5 at any given time
Should I put more in?
I have a million more questions, but I dont want to piss anyone off my first time here

Thank you so much in advance, if you can help me out

-Mitch

bicolorgod

Well Mitch, Protein skimmers would be great, but if you cannot get one, don't worry about it now.
Frozen food is something I don't feed my fish, because I dont really like live food in my tank. (creepy)
For a 75 gallon, you can fit about.. 9-10 fish of medium size, maybe more. Just be careful which ones...
And about the lettuce, yes, you can do this, but things like Romaine lettuce have next to nothing when it comes to vitamins and minerals.
-Scott
[This message has been edited by BiColorGod (edited 06-12-2000).]