ack! i think my peppermints ate my maxima

isz

up untill i got home from work today i had a 3" maxima. i looked at my tank when i left for work this morning and my clam was in his usual spot like he normally is. but when i returned tonight he was upside down. i could see through the part where his foot is supposed to be. franticly i cleaned up(20 minutes =( i'm a mechanic) now that he's been righted, he hasn't opened at all. i only have 2 peppermints and some snails in this tank. i'm ruling out the snails. could the peppermints have done this? or did he just explode?

jonthefb

where is his "usual spot" in the rockwork or on a sandbed, plus what type of lightign do you have, and what kind of inhabitants, mainly fish? the reason i ask is because i have a fairly large Coris gaimaird wrasse in my 135 who would knock clams over and turn them upside down hunting for bugs. i wonder if you are having a similar problem. i am pretty sure its not your shrimp.
good luck
jon

isz

he's usually in the SB, and i have no fish(yet). as for lights i have 90 watts worth of PC's. i even had him in a very low current area. i'm going to test the water in a couple of hours. i'll post the results

bang guy

I agree with Jon. My guess is the Maxima flipped itself over. It should probably be up on the rocks unless you're acclimating it to your lighting :)

isz

=( its been confirmed the maxima has been slain. my roommate confirmed that when he was home earlier he saw the peppermints consuming the remnants of the clam. but i'm still unsure what happened to him. if there are inadequit lights don't clams usually so signs of it as opposed to dying suddenly. as for water quality, wouldn't that also be a gradual thing. i've heard of people having clams go south. but its usually over a couple of days at least. i think

bang guy