Aiptasia vs. Super Glue.

wocka

i super glued up all my aiptasia on this rock.. i had about 6. now i see them coming back out after a few weeks?? whats the best way i can get rid of them. i heard of syringing them with some medicine but where am i gonna get a syringe?

bytedr

I've had great luck with peppermint shrimp. They love to eat the stuff and they are a great add to the tank.
ByteDr

wocka

bigarn- whats pickeling lime? i have xenia on the same rock like .5" from the aiptasia, i couldnt use boiling water

mjmpinsky

I posted a thread on this about 1 month ago.
I found it 100% effective to kill them by injecting them with a tiny amount of lemon juice concentrate.
You should be able to get an insulin syringe at a LFS or at a local

[hr]
if you explain to them what you are going to use it for (I had it easy - I'm a doctor!).
I found 0.2cc injected into stalk (not the mouth) of small anemones and 0.5cc for the larger ones did the job in just a few seconds and they were never seen from again.
Technique it completely safe...if you miss and inject the tank, the tiny amount of acid is completely inactivated by your tank's buffering action.
Try it....You will like it (They will turn black before your eyes).

soupysteve

In every reef forum site I go to there always seems to be someone who wants to know how to get rid of aptasia. IT WOULD SEEM that none of the moderators at any of these sites has ever decided "Hey, maybe we should sticky a thread about aptasia removal" - not that I am trying to HINT AT SOMETHING!!!
It's just crazy to me that all these forums are up and running so that people can exchange information on how to keep their tanks inhabitants HEALTHY or HEALTHIER, but it's some huge mystery how to kill one kind.