Algae free tank

mark

How can I keep an algae free tank like the ones seen in hotels and restaurants? Also, what is the best method for cleaning coral? I have bleached in the past but am looking for an alternate method. Thanks !!

krazzydart

What kind of corals are you bleaching??????????????????????????????????????????????? Lots of maintance and a good filter system is the key.....

chuck

They pay people to clean it which makes it real easy on the business. Looks can be deceiving, behind any good looking tank comes a good amount of maintainance and biological filtration. There is no easy way out, I've been doing this for 5 years; patience and a love for the hobby is the key. If you have the moola pay someone, if not prepare to get your hands wet. Good luck!

clayton

Don't buy dead coral as decoration, the trade of it has been devastating to reefs!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

patrick

Originally posted by clayton:
Don't buy dead coral as decoration, the trade of it has been devastating to reefs!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

LOL Whatever!
[This message has been edited by Patrick (edited 06-05-2000).]

beth

Administrator
Staff member
Don't bleech anything...take from me, I've had very devasting experiences with using bleech. Constantly cleaning algae out of tank is the only way to keep everything looking like the first day you set up...however, I'm not sure that is the best way to maintain a tank. Some algae is healthy for the tank, and even makes things look better. I used to like everything sterile clean, but as I progressed in the hobby, I realized how unnatural that kind of tank is [not to mention the chore it is to keep it looking that way].

clayton

Originally posted by Patrick:

LOL Whatever!

I'm not sure what you mean Patrick. Don't you agree??

reptilicus