Anenomes

brsdr32

I have had some trouble keeping anemones in my tank. The longest I have kept them is about 2 days. I do have some real small ones on my LR and I've had them for over 3 months. The problem is with Pink tip's and Florida Condi. My pH is 8.2, temp 82, salinity normal and I have a PC lighting with extra flourescent lights. Can anyone help me keep them in my tank?

mkcsil18

I am no expert either I lost 2 of mine as well, I was told they need some water flo, so I bought a PH and gave them some slight current, but still lost one, I was about to give up on them as well... I had my clownfish loving it too, but one day I came home from work and it was totally shrivled up and dead....

snipe

Anemones need tanks that have been going for awhile everyone I have talked to sais to wait at least 6 months before trying anemones. And they do need current to do well you may also want to research on that anemone and see what it needs cuase they are diffrent.

brsdr32

My tank has been set up for almost 7 months now. I will make sure I have a current next time. I was debating on whether to have one or not, but it sounds like I need one if I have an anemone. Will the current mess with my flame angel who I think needs to have stationary food and not to hunt for it.

brsdr32

Ammonia and nitrate levels are normal. I haven't had any trouble out of that since I started the tank 7 months ago.
Acclimation is letting is float for approx 30 min, then slowly adding some of my water into the bag for about another 30-45 minutes. After that I put it into the tank. It was good for a day, then it slowly started shrinking and now it is dead.

viet-tin

Acclimation shock. Anytime you bring home anemones or any coral or invert, you should always drip acclimate them. This will make it easier on them. Works well on fish as well. This site as info on how to drip acclimate.

22caddy